EMT Training

Wearing the sweatshirt my husband bought for me!

It has been a while since I’ve posted here. I have two other blogs that keep my busy, plus I’ve been drowning in EMT work. When I first moved to Texas with my husband, so he could continue his flight training for the Navy, I was unsure about what I wanted to do. At our last duty station, I really didn’t do much. We got a dog to keep me company and I became the Ombudsman for the training wing. I did a lot of working out and swimming on base to keep me busy. I loved doing it. I’ve actually been the smallest size in my life – besides when I was a child.

Anyways, before we moved I found a volunteer fire department here and I contacted them asking them if they would take me through EMT training if I volunteered. I actually received a call back with the answer I was looking for! I was a little nervous before we moved from Florida to Texas because I wasn’t sure if this would workout and if I could even find a job. Honestly, I dread the question along the lines of, “so what do you do?” or “how are you staying busy?” which to me sounds like… “what are you doing while Travis is away training, saving the world, and becoming an awesome human being?” I know people are asking out of sheer curiosity and love, but when I really don’t have an “awesome” answer to give back like, “oh, you know I’m getting my masters” or “I’m working at such and such a place.” It really gets to me. I’m really competitive and I want to be as successful as Travis is, yes I know that’s childish, but I like being busy. It’s who I am.

My whole life I’ve been going and going and going nonstop. My last two years of high school, I was attending the community college so that I could get my AAS degree at the time I graduated high school. Then I headed to BYU and got my BS degree before I turned 20. Then I went to DC to work. So after being in Florida and, to me, not really accomplishing much, I was a little nervous and excited for our next adventure. So this past January I started the course. I was actually the top in the class, which was really cool and I have learned a lot. This is the type of knowledge that can be used anywhere. This past Monday we had our psycho-motor skills exam, which I was nervous for. But I did have a supportive husband who let me practice on him. We have seven skills that we are graded on such as, medical assessments, trauma assessments, giving oxygen, use of tourniquets, CPR with an AED, and various other skills involved with emergency care. These are hardcore and you can easily fail them, if unprepared, but you can easily pass them too. I passed them all in one try. There were about 4 out of the 9 in our class who had at least one or more skills they had to retest.

Basically, all my dreams came to fruition. Tonight is my last night in class. I will receive my course completion certificate and then I can be on my way to take the written portion of the National Registry exam! It’s been a long 6 months, but SO worth it!

About KPearle

BYU alumni. Naval aviator wifey. Fitness lover. EMT. Min Pin fur-mommy. Beach bum. Disney obsessed. Nail polish & sewing fanatic. 💕

Posted on June 12, 2014, in EMT. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

